Faculty were honored for their achievements and service today at the final faculty meeting of the 2019-20 school year.

Provost John Meier recognized the contributions of these retiring faculty members, who have been elected to emeriti status:

Nestor Gil, associate professor of art, and Susan Wenze, assistant professor of psychology, received Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Faculty Lecture Awards in recognition of excellence in teaching and scholarship. Each will deliver a featured lecture during the 2020-21 academic year.

Five faculty members received Joseph Johnson Hardy Memorial Fund Awards. The award was established in 1923 by Harry S. Gay 1882 in memory of Professor Joseph Hardy, who taught mathematics and astronomy from 1870 to 1915. The income from this fund is divided annually among the members of the faculty who have achieved the longest continuous service to Lafayette without regard to rank. Honored were:

  • Howard Schneiderman, professor of anthropology and sociology, in his twelfth year of participation, having started at Lafayette in 1973
  • Ilan Peleg, Charles A. Dana Professor of Government and Law, sixth year, 1974
  • Susan Basow, Charles A. Dana Professor Emerita of Psychology, sixth year, 1977
  • Larry Stockton, professor of music, sixth year, 1977
  • Tom Hill, professor of mathematics, first year, 1979

An announcement of recipients of endowed chairs and scholarly positions was made:

  • Polly Piergiovanni, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, will be Air Products/Seifi Ghasemi Chair in Engineering for Interdisciplinary Teaching
  • David Stifel, professor of economics, will be Charles A. Dana Professor of Economics
  • Andy Vinchur, professor of psychology, will be Charles A. Dana Professor of Psychology
  • Chip Nataro, professor of chemistry, will be Marshall R. Metzgar Professor of Chemistry
  • Chawne Kimber, professor of mathematics, will be Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Professor of Mathematics
  • Lauren Anderson, associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, will be James T. Marcus ’50 Scholar of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Megan Fernandes, assistant professor of English, will be writer-in-residence

At the annual Hoff Awards, Neha Vora, associate professor of anthropology, and Lauren Myers, assistant professor of psychology, received Student Government Superior Teaching Awards. These recognize professors who have served as exemplary scholars by teaching beyond the required level and having a significant positive impact on the careers of students inside and outside the classroom.

Although not announced at the faculty meeting, the following assistant professors have been promoted to associate professor with tenure, effective in the fall semester:

  • Trent Gaugler, mathematics
  • Eric Ho, biology
  • Michael McGuire, civil and environmental engineering
  • Lauren Myers, psychology
  • Julia Nicodemus, engineering studies
  • Tobias Rossmann, mechanical engineering
  • Michael Senra, chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Susan Wenze, psychology

These associate professors have been promoted to full professors:

  • Rebecca Kissane, anthropology and sociology
  • Julie Smith, economics
  • Angelika von Wahl, international affairs

The Faculty Award for Excellence in Community Engagement Pedagogy and the Faculty Award for Distinguished Leadership in Community-Based Teaching and/or Research will be given at a Landis Center for Community Engagement event in October.

The Daniel L. Golden ’34 Faculty Service Award will be given at the fall Alumni Volunteer Awards program.

Other awards typically given to faculty and staff are not being bestowed this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use basic HTML tags and attributes.