Hollis Ashby, artistic and executive director of the Williams Center for the Arts, has been recognized by one of the most prestigious associations in the field of performing arts. 

Jazz singer Cecile McLorin Salvant and Williams Center director Hollis Ashby

Hollis (right) with jazz singer Cecile McLorin Salvant

North American Performing Arts Managers and Agents (NAPAMA) named her as the recipient of the 2020 NAPAMA Award for Excellence in Presenting the Performing Arts. Also known as “Presenter of the Year,” the award honors excellence, achievement, and integrity. Those three core traits are demonstrated through the guidance of emerging artists, the use of best practices, and the promotion of diversity and equity.

At the College since 2014, Hollis directs all aspects of the multi-disciplinary, multi-cultural performing arts series. Under her leadership, the Williams Center annually presents a robust schedule of classical music, jazz, dance, theater, and artistry from cultures around the world. 

“For NAPAMA and our members, these awards are important every year. During this unprecedented time of struggle and upheaval in our industry, the awards have taken on an even greater sense of import and cause for celebration,” observes Heena Patel, Vice President of Communications for NAPAMA and Chair of the Awards Committee. “This has been the most challenging year that our sector has faced, and the awards offer an opportunity to celebrate and honor two professionals who have made a difference, not only during the pandemic, but also in the whole of their careers. The nominations are an uplifting reminder of the heart and soul that our peers put into their work.”

Why this matters…

  • The NAPAMA Award for Excellence in Presenting is considered one of the top awards in the field.
  • Recipients of the award range in size and type – campus-based, municipal, free-standing non-profits, and festivals;  some have operating budgets under $1 million to over $100 million.
  • The Williams Center for the Arts at Lafayette College is the only organization whose leadership has been recognized twice with this award. Ellis Finger received it in 2005. When Finger heard the news of the recent award, he said: “The NAPAMA is all about integrity, honesty, service to artists and managements.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use basic HTML tags and attributes.