Lafayette College is proud to announce two new faculty awards that reflect the College’s commitment to academic advising and mentoring students. These awards will be presented at this year’s faculty/trustee dinner.

The Ann V. McGillicuddy-De Lisi Faculty Academic Advisor of the Year Award was established in 2022 in memory of Ann McGillicuddy-De Lisi, who was an esteemed faculty member in Lafayette’s Department of Psychology, by her husband, Richard De Lisi, Ph.D. Ann held the title of Marshall R. Metzgar Professor of Psychology and upon her retirement was elected to emeritus status. This prize will be presented to a member of the faculty (tenured or tenure-track) in recognition of excellence in their role as academic advisor. For this award, the following criteria of the advisor are considered:

a.) Upholds the core values of caring, commitment, empowerment, inclusivity, integrity, professionalism, and respect, as supported by NACADA, The Global Community for Academic Advising.

b.) Supports student development by helping advisees define, plan, and achieve their educational goals, and has had a transformative impact on the educational journey of the advisee.

c.) Provides helpful and accurate information regarding college academic requirements and policies.

d.) Makes appropriate referrals as needed.

The Ilan Peleg Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award was also established in 2022 in honor of Charles A. Dana Professor of Government and Law, Ilan Peleg, Ph.D. through the generosity of Charles “Chip” V. Bergh ’79. This prize will be presented to a member of the Faculty who has demonstrated exceptional excellence in mentoring Lafayette students. This excellence could be reflected in the faculty member’s commitment to teaching, scholarship (especially working closely with students), mentoring and support for students while the student is at Lafayette and beyond, and all other forms of mentoring. This could also include mentorship/advising of a student group, team, club, or project.

Please send nominations and recommendations via email to by Wed., March 22. Self-nominations, which may be submitted by faculty, must be accompanied by a letter of support from the department head/program chair (or faculty committee chair, if appropriate).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use basic HTML tags and attributes.